Change Font Size:

CE Requirements for License Renewal

-Even-numbered licenses whose license expiration date is 2/28/2024, the hands-on hours requirement remains in place.  No more than fifty percent of your required hours may be earned on-line.  For licensees who have been practicing for 15 or more years all CE hours required for license renewal may be completed by on-line/remote means for the upcoming license renewal in 2024!  Future license renewals will abide by the new law which goes into effect August 1, 2023 requiring at least 50 percent of required CE hours to be obtained by in-person or hands-on methods.

-Odd-numbered licenses whose license expiration date is 2/28/2025, the hands-on hours requirement remains in place.  No more than fifty percent of your required hours may be earned by remote means.  
  

Applicable to ALL ND licensees:
*Credit hours may not be carried into the next license renewal period.
*The Board does not keep track of hours for you.
*The Board does a random audit of licensees at the time of license renewal.  If you are selected for the random audit, you will receive an e-mail notifying you and instructing you how to complete the audit portion of the license renewal process.

Licensed/actively practicing up to 14 years:
*For the FIRST LICENSE RENEWAL after becoming licensed in the State of North Dakota, you are not required to obtain continuing education hours.  The second license renewal after becoming licensed in the State of North Dakota, you will be required to obtain 24 continuing education hours including a minimum of 3 hours in Ethics education.  Thereafter, 24 hours of continuing education are required with ethics education optional.  Of the 24 hours, at least 12 hours must be classroom, hands-on.  No more than 12 hours may be earned by remote/on-line means.  Remote is anything that is not presented in person in a physical location.  

Licensed/actively practicing for 15 to 24 years:
Six (6) hours of continuing education are required every two years.  Of the 6 hours, at least 3 hours must be classroom, hands-on.  No more than 3 hours may be earned by remote/on-line means.  Remote is anything that is not presented in person in a physical location.  

Licensed/actively practicing for 25 or more years:
Three (3) hours of continuing education are required every two years.  Of the 3 hours, at least 1.5 hours must be classroom, hands-on.  No more than 1.5 hours may be earned by remote/on-line means.  Remote is anything that is not presented in person in a physical location.  

Page Updated: 10/9/2023 10:49:46 AM